For Immediate Release


Representative: George Nakayama, Representative Director, President and CEO
(Code no.: 4568, First Section, Tokyo Stock Exchange)
Please address inquiries to Noriaki Ishida, Executive Officer,
Vice President, Corporate Communications Department
Telephone: +81-3-6225-1126

Winner of 2016 Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research Announced

TOKYO, Japan (March 3, 2017) – Daiichi Sankyo Company, Limited (hereafter, Daiichi Sankyo) today announced that on March 2 the Manpei Suzuki Diabetes Foundation* (Chuo-ku, Tokyo; President, Takashi Shoda; hereafter, the foundation), a related public benefit foundation company of Daiichi Sankyo, held an award ceremony and memorial lecture at the Keidanren Kaikan and presented the 2016 Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research to Professor Jeffery M. Friedman (MD, PhD) of Rockefeller University.


The foundation created the Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research in November 2007 to commemorate the 15th anniversary of the foundation’s establishment. The foundation considers researchers around the world with original and outstanding research achievements on diabetes, honoring one person each year. 


The foundation hopes that receiving this International Award will be a goal for researchers engaged in diabetes research throughout the world, and will further advance diabetes research.


*Since its establishment in December 1993, the foundation has been committed to “fostering young researchers by promoting international exchange of researchers engaged in the field of diabetes and contributing to the promotion of research in this field," raising various types of grant projects.



1. Reason for recognizing Jeffery M. Friedman (MD, PhD), Rockefeller University

The Selection Committee highly recognized his groundbreaking discovery of leptin and new endocrine system comprised of leptin, which is the key to understanding obesity and insulin resistance, the most common antecedents of diabetes.


Current Institution/Title

Rockefeller University, Professor


Major Achievements

1984: Rockefeller University Ph.D.

1986: Rockefeller University Assistant Professor

1991: Rockefeller University Associate Professor

1995: Rockefeller University Professor

To present


Past Recognitions
2002: The Banting Memorial Lecture
2007: The Danone International Prize for Nutrition
2009: The Keio Medical Science Prize
2010: The Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research
2012: The Foundation IPSEN 11th Endocrine Regulation Prize
2012: BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award in Biomedicine
2013: King Faisal International Prize in Medicine
2016: Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine


2. Past Manpei Suzuki International Prize for Diabetes Research Winners


C. Ronald Kahn, MD, Joslin Diabetes Center, Harvard Medical School (USA)


Donald F. Steiner, MD, The University of Chicago (USA)


Carl Eric Mogensen, MD, Aarhus University Hospital, Aarhus (Denmark)


Masato Kasuga, MD, PhD, National Center for Global Health and Medicine (Japan)


Graeme Ian Bell, PhD, The University of Chicago (USA)


Bruce M. Spiegelman, PhD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School (USA)


Daniel J. Drucker, MD, University of Toronto (Canada)


Takashi Kadowaki, MD, PhD, Graduate School of Medicine, the University of Tokyo (Japan)